Raceday Fashion winners bask in the glory

Raceday Fashion winners bask in the glory

After a two year absence, the Raceday Fashion Awards attracted huge interest as hundreds entered the various categories hoping for raceday glory at the 2022 Hollywoodbets Durban July on Saturday.

Hollywoodbets Greyville was a hive of activity for the hopefuls as they entered the Classic Raceday for Women, Classic Raceday for Men, Most Striking Couple and the Exceptional Raceday Hat or Fascinator.

The highlight of the raceday fashion programme was Makhosazane Ntshangase who returned to win the Classic Racewear Women category, repeating her win in 2019.

Ntshangase wasn’t done as she also took home the third prize in the same category.

“It’s incredible for me to come back and win again after 2019,” Ntshangase said with a smile.

“It was a lot of work and I put in a lot of extra work on the fascinator that was on the winning garment which is great.

“I think next year I’ll give someone else a chance!” she added with a laugh.

Martin John Steenkamp claimed another top three when his creation finished in second place.

In the Raceday Hat or Fascinator category it was Rutendo Dyirakumunda who was crowned the winner.

“I am incredibly happy to win this award,” Dyirakumunda said.

“It means so much to me after all the work that I put into creating it and it’s a huge blessing for me.”

Designer Melissa Scandurra finished in second place while Judaine Naidoo finished in third place.

In the Classic Racewear for Men Sipho Mugazi that took home first place with his creation that was modeled by Qurin.

Martin John Steenkamp’s creation finished second while Mnotho Ngema’s self-made outfit saw him finish in third place.

In the prestigious Most Striking Couple category Brenda Waring and Pamela Shabane were crowned the winning designers for their creation that was worn by Shabane herself and Kent Hollenberg.

Second place went to the thruple of Siyabonga Makaula, Cayleigh de Beer and Micaela van Heerden.

Makaula and Van Heerden were responsible for the design of the outfits.

Third went to Leona Adams for her creation modeled by Denelle Ince and Josh Jacobs.

Each of the raceday fashion competition winners took home R5 000 from Gold Circle and Schweppes and a R2 500 gift card from the Gateway Theatre of Shopping, while the second places won R3 000 fromGold Circle and Schweppes, with the third placed designers earning R2 000 from Gold Circle and Schweppes.